Mages, ten-man raiding, and other things that are awesome.

A funny thing happened during raid last night. See, I haven’t finished leveling Anglers rep yet. I know, I’m really far behind. I just got so burned out on dailies. I’m doing it now. But I don’t have the waterstrider mount. When our raid gets to the part of Siege of Orgrimmar where Jaina gets all portal-happy, they all jump off the boat and run for shore instead of waiting for her.

I get it – nobody likes to wait for a mage’s portal. Ingrates! You’d think that because Voss plays a death knight I’d be assured of getting Path of Frost – nope. He never waits. So yesterday I jump off along with them, hoping I’ll be in time, only to land sadly and flounder in the water.

“No one ever waits for me!” I cried piteously. Our shaman turned around, came back and cast water walking on me. He is my only friend.

But Rhidach said, “Don’t you have that MAGE thing? That ice berg?”

“The what now?”

“You don’t KNOW about it?”

“Know about what?!”

“It’s an iceberg like the fishing raft. The one you shout at to make it go faster.”

“Get out of town, that does not exist!”

“I WILL BET YOU FIVE GOLD THAT IT DOES.”

And he was right. If you are Revered with the Anglers, you can purchase Bipsi’s Bobbing Berg for a mere 777 gold. “Save a tree, conjure a raft!”

Important to note: If you are not a mage, you cannot conjure the ice to make this raft. You won’t see it as a purchasable option from the quartermaster. You must use the more pedestrian wooden option.

AHH iceberg raft!

AHH iceberg raft!

I can’t even be annoyed at Rhidach for costing me 5 gold, since if he hadn’t, I wouldn’t have a way to go across the water as well as a really cool new mage only trick. I guess it costs 782 gold if your profiteering guild mate has to tell you about it first!

Comments on: "Bipsi’s Bobbing Berg: this berg is for you, mages" (13)

  1. You needed a paladin to tell you about a mage-exclusive item?? WORST MAGE EVER

  2. I’m going to bookmark this post for a day when I need a smile.

  3. During Winter Veil, I saw a Mage using the Snowman Disguise Kit plus the Bobbing Berg in the Thunder Bluff fishpond. I thought it was pretty cute!

    Now I really should go out and get one of these for my Mage.

    Also, love your mog!

  4. Oh wow, I didn’t even know about that, and I have a mage (or four)! I’m definitely going to have to get this. Thank you.

  5. Oh Vid, I thought by the time I wrote about it, you would have known about it already but I guess it’s because it was a new addition and not when the expansion hit. They need more fun class specific toys like this.

    • I guess I missed your post about it! I am just behind the times on some things. It seems I’m not the only one though because many mages have been as surprised as I to learn of its existence, haha.

  6. I had no idea! Purchased immediately!

  7. […] Veil Disguise Kit — it was really cute, I should have taken a screenshot! More recently, Vidyala discovered the Berg, and her post prompted me to get Kaelinda out to Angler’s Wharf to earn […]

  8. […] Veil Disguise Kit — it was really cute, I should have taken a screenshot! More recently, Vidyala discovered the Berg, and her post prompted me to get Kaelinda out to Angler’s Wharf to earn […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,355 other followers

