Mages, ten-man raiding, and other things that are awesome.

This is a guest post by Kamalia of Kamalia et Alia. Thank you, Kamalia, I appreciate it so much and it’s great to see more paladin fashion! – Vid

With Patch 4.3 and what Ratshag is calling the TRANSMOGALYPSE just around the corner, I thought it would be appropriate to re-visit the idea of “The Well-Dressed Paladin” with the intention of making Transmogrification-friendly outfits inspired by each of the Paladin races.

I’ve omitted bracers except in one case where they are actually visible, and left choice of cloaks up to the person using the outfit. The lists compiled by Rades were very helpful for choosing weapons to go with these outfits.

The Crusader

modeled by Ophelie
Helm of Purified Thoughts, Chilled Shoulderplates, Cerulean Filigreed Doublet, Breastplate of the Righteous, Studded Girdle of Virtue, Legplates of the Righteous, Earthmender’s Plated Boots, Spiritualist’s Gauntlets, Aledar’s Battlestar, Commander’s Crest

I built this set around the matching boots and gloves. Originally I tried it for a Dwarf, but soon decided that it would work better for a Human. The Highlord’s Favor/Hyperion Shield/Khan’s Buckler would also be an appropriate choice of shield for this ensemble.

The Knight of the Silver Hand

modeled by Lisan
Khan’aish Helmet, Khan’aish Epaulets, Red Linen Shirt, Leonine Breastplate, Khan’aish Girdle, Shattered Hand Vambraces, Shattered Hand Gauntlets, Starcaller’s Plated Legguards, Explorer’s Boots, Ironfoe, Royal Treasury Courier’s Shield

This set started with the chestpiece and leggings. I tried it with the gloves and boots that I used in the previous set, but the silver trim on those items just didn’t work. The green on the pants doesn’t quite go with the Ironforge Red I used elsewhere in the outfit, but I couldn’t find any pants that I liked better.

The Vindicator

modeled by Vidyala
High Chief’s Crown, Justice Bearer’s Pauldrons, Rich Purple Silk Shirt, Fire Scarred Breastplate, Vindicator’s Cinch, Skyfire Greaves, Boots of the Watchful Heart, Life Bearer’s Gauntlets, Vindicator’s Brand, Aldori Legacy Defender

The chestpiece of this set, a quest reward from HFP, is sort of like a less-ornate version of the T4 Justicar chestpiece.

The Blood Knight

modeled by Antigen
Helm of Infinite Visions, Boulderfist Epaulets, Sawbones Shirt, Blackened Chestplate, Goblin Girdle, Runed Sketh’lon Legplates, Bloodforged Gauntlets, Bloodforged Sabatons, Summoner’s Blade, Bloodforged Guard, Blood Knight Tabard

This is a pretty standard Blood Knight ensemble, spiced up a bit with pure red boots and gloves.

The Sunwalker

modeled by Haloma
Glorious Headdress, Runic Plate Shoulders, Thunder Bluff Doublet, Plate of the Shaman King, Commander’s Girdle, Imperial Plate Leggings, Warbringer’s Sabatons, Warbringer’s Gauntlets, Serenity, Saltstone Shield

The Sunwalker outfit gave me a bit of trouble because most Sunwalker NPCs wear the Grunt’s Plate set, which is white-quality. Only the chestpiece is available in a green- or better quality version. It took me a few iterations of clicking through item lists in WMV to find a harmonious all-plate ensemble.

Bonus Set: The Redeemed Blood Knight

Lightforge Spaulders, Golden Filigreed Doublet, Ursa’s Embrace, Commander’s Girdle, Leggings of the Ursa, Hyperion Greaves, Hyperion Gauntlets, The Willbreaker, Outland Shield

I first started putting this outfit together for the Sunwalker, but once it was finished, it didn’t feel very “Tauren” to me. Rather, it seemed more like something that would be appropriate for a Blood Knight who had embraced a more Human/Dwarf/Draenei-like relationship with the Light following the rebirth of the Sunwell. This shield is a smaller model of the shields hanging around the walls of Sunfury Spire in Silvermoon City. I think this set would look particularly awesome when the Paladin is riding the Thalassian Warhorse or Thalassian Charger.
With the Ironforge shield shown above, it would also be appropriate for a Dwarf.

Paladins have a lot of great Tier sets, to be sure, but I hope you’ve enjoyed this glimpse into how you might create a unique look that still has “Paladin” written all over it.

Comments on: "The Well-Dressed Paladin, Revisited" (15)

  1. hi, i’ve done the quest in borean tundra that gives you the shoulders for The Crusader set, is there any alternatives? i’ve looked but most of the ones i’ve found are either blue or dark gray

    • Hmm… in that case, I’d probably just go with the Spaulders of the Righteous (drop from Laj in the Botanica on both Normal and Heroic) that match most of the rest of the items in the set.

  2. Very nice collection – very well thought out indeedies. We has a very different direction we’s goin’ in fer a Blood Knight set over at NMR, but it ain’t gonna happen until Yugami can get her dainty elf butt aoutta the 30s and inta the 70s, unfortunately.

    • Well, whenever she gets there, I’ll look forward to seeing it!

      (Also, as a chemist who used Nuclear Magnetic Resonance as the major analytical technique of my dissertation, I had to do a double-take before I figured out that “NMR” meant “Need More Rage” in this context. 😛 LOL)

  3. Very nice! I was already thinking about getting a blood knight set for my pally, similar to what you posted, but I might take some of your suggestions on board.

  4. What I coincidence I just commented on Kamalia’s ‘Pilgrims Bounty’ post before hopping over to this one.

    How creative are these?! I think I’d have to go with the first or third one 🙂

    – Jamin

  5. I’m not exactly sure about this, but I don’t think you can get the Blood Knight Tabard anymore. When they revamped the Paladin quest lines, I think that the old Mount/Tabard quest bit the dust.

    Oh, and the Blood Tempered Ranseur would be perfect for the Blood Knight outfit, as would be Quel’Delar. Of course, I think the Ranseur got zapped too….

    • Blood Elf Paladins now get the Blood Knight Tabard as an additional reward from the level 50 class quest that sends you to BRD for a hat.

      The Ranseur, however, is lost and gone.

      • A hat.

        Somehow, that feels so…. inadequate.

        The entire point of the Blood Knight questline was to see where exactly Bloodvalor was taking the Blood Knights, setting up their redemption at the hands of Liadrin.

  6. Lovely! I’ve been meaning to post some images of outfits I am working on as well, but I don’t think I’ve put quite as much thought and attention to detail into mine as you seem to have.

    Great post, thank you!

  7. […] Template Kit, which is itself based on the Redeemed Blood Knight ensemble I presented in the “Well-Dressed Paladin, Revisited” guest post I made at […]

  8. […] Insignia/Elementalist Cloak, Serenity, Saltstone Shield You may recognize this ensemble from the “Well-Dressed Paladin, Revisited” guest post I made at Manalicious. I wanted to use the Plate of the Shaman King for the Protection […]

  9. […] Sin’dorei Warblade This set is a slight iteration of an outfit I originally described in “The Well-Dressed Paladin, Revisited” guest post I wrote for […]

  10. […] Sin’dorei Warblade This set is a slight iteration of an outfit I originally described in “The Well-Dressed Paladin, Revisited” guest post I wrote for Manalicious. After I decided that I would rather have a Dwarf for my […]

  11. […] her into a Dwarf. This set is a slight iteration of an outfit I originally described in “The Well-Dressed Paladin, Revisited” guest post I wrote for […]

Leave a comment