Mages, ten-man raiding, and other things that are awesome.

All good things

tcg_10

I can talk about this here now because the news is public: due to budget cuts, WoW Insider has had to let much of their feature and columnist staff go. That includes me and all of my columnist friends at the site. I’m glad that many people will still be writing there, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t sad on my own behalf.

Writing for WoW Insider has been a great experience for me. I was able to write for a much wider audience as well as having to be much more critical when it came to my writing in terms of both content and length. Voss says I’m long-winded, which is probably not untrue. I tend to get rambling and then before I know it I’ve written three essays instead of one. Staying within the word constraints (1000-1500) was a great exercise in restraint for me. It’s forced me to be more concise and also to make calls about what is really necessary and what isn’t.

I’ve also had to reconsider the rambling structure of what I write. Overall, I think it’s made me a stronger writer and I’m incredibly grateful for that experience. Of course, another effect of writing there was that Manalicious suffered in terms of updates and I do regret that. Between the pressures of updating a weekly comic, a personal blog and a bi-weekly article about mages, this place has collected a bit of dust.

The future

Now that I will not be spending the time writing for WI, I intend to redirect that passion back into this site. I’ll be posting much more regularly as well as possibly overhauling the layout and updating some things. (My least favourite part of maintaining a blog, if I’m being honest with you. I’m not very technical).

But the fact of the matter is that I still want a venue to talk about mages, my favourite class and the thing that really keeps me logging into World of Warcraft along with the awesome people in my guild. I will, of course, still write about the old standbys here too: whatever is going on with Business Time (still recruiting, by the way) as well as art and personal anecdotes where applicable. I also talk about baking things. This isn’t WI and it has a much smaller audience and is part personal blog as well. I may also post fiction from time to time, though I’ll be tagging it so people can skip it if they like. I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea.

On a related note, as I’m losing a bit of my income I would like to step it up with the business side of art – commissions, etc. I’ll have more info about that for you soon. I’d love to do another set of Blizzcon badges for anyone who is planning to go this year. Those were so much fun and I loved doing them!

In terms of what am I going to actually be writing about: I have my third article about challenge modes more or less written. It didn’t fit well within the word limits and is mostly my personal notes about each CM, but I think it’ll fit very nicely here. I’m also eagerly awaiting news about our talent changes that is bound to drop anytime now. Celestalon’s hinting has me in great suspense!

So if this is your first time dropping by Manalicious, hello, welcome, have a cookie, pull up a chair. Things are a little more conversational here and I try to respond to comments when I can. I also have a strict “don’t be a jerk” comment policy and I will lay the ban down on someone really quickly if they come here and get out of line. Be polite and you are welcome. I’m Canadian, after all. To folks who’ve been reading here for years, even when content was a bit sparse, thank you. Without you I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to write for WI at all and I am so glad that I did.

cake

Here is a picture of the cake I baked the day that I heard The News about the layoffs. It’s this yellow cake recipe that Sally (Sarah Pine from WI) gave me. What’s brilliant about it is that it’s an old-fashioned, one bowl affair. You sift the dry ingredients into the bowl and then just toss in the milk and butter and let it mix. I set a timer and let the stand mixer go to town on this bad boy. The end result was delicious, very flavorful and moist. I frosted it with a chocolate sour cream frosting from another recipe book I had. It was the perfect cake for a bad news day. Here’s hoping that things will start looking up from here on out, though, and best of luck to my former and current colleagues at WoW Insider. It was fun working with you. I wish we could have some cake and beverages in person. Instead, just know that I raise my glass to you all!

Comments on: "All good things" (20)

  1. I was so unbelievably pumped for you the day I heard you got the WI gig. We were Twitter buds long before that ever happened, and I always thought you were one of the Cool Kids I didn’t really deserve to be friends with. It sucks that this happened. Enjoy your cake, lady.

  2. Looking forward to your mage-posts. I’m very sorry for you, but that cake looks delicious.

  3. I immediately thought of you when I saw that headline. Trust me, my sweet wonderful friend: I felt it. You are amazingly talented, on so many levels and venues, but mostly your genuine sweet nature comes shining through. Being able to meet you at Blizzcon, along with Navimie, were solidly the highlights of that trip. I am in your corner all the way – wherever your new venture takes you. (And I still need a LOT of mage help!!)

  4. sigh. i really liked your columns. i look forward to continuing to read similar things here, for sure, but it makes me worried about WI in general that they keep cutting stuff and not adding anything else. not having class columns there makes the site much less useful for me.

  5. For a minute I freaked, thinking that with a title such as “All Good Things” you were going to give up MMOs. We’d already lost Rohan right at the end of last year, and I wasn’t ready to lose your blog(s) as well.

    It was great seeing you on W:I, the first person I actually knew before they got a gig writing there. I’m sad that it had to end, but I’m glad that you’ve still got stories to tell here.

    • Thanks, Red. You’ve always been one of my most stalwart friends here and I appreciate it. At this rate they will probably pry MMOs out of my cold, dead hands, haha.

  6. It’s a shame the WI role didn’t last longer for you; it seemed like a great fit. It’s sad in general how many cuts they had to make (their sister site Massively too) even though they seem to be doing quite well for themselves. Yay for orders from upper management…

    Seeing more content on here again will be nice though. 🙂

    • Wow, thanks Shintar! I haven’t seen you in awhile so it’s cool to know you are still around. I did love writing at WI and am pretty bummed overall but what can you do? I’m glad I still have a venue to do some writing and great people who will read it!

  7. Well, sadly I wasn’t one of the people who knew of you before you started writing for WI, but I enjoyed your columns so much over there. You were the first person I thought of when he mentioned cuts and I was crushed to see you among them. I wish you the best and I know that with as talented as you are, you will land on your feet. Thank you for sharing your personal site so that we still have a chance to follow you and enjoy your wit.

    • That’s really kind of you, thank you. The mage community was so welcoming and happy to have a mage columnist, it was a great feeling. I’m glad I even got to meet a few folks at Blizzcon!

  8. Oh, Vid, I am sad for you (and Rhi and Antigen and the others). Your last column was wonderful, bravo for choosing to go out on a high, light, bright note. And that cake recipe sounds delicious! I’ll need to find an excuse of my own to make it.

    • Thanks, Kam. Ugh, it messed up my comment. Anyway, I had a lot more to say there but I will have to say it here instead. It was fun writing about transmog, at least!

  9. So WI won’t have you? Or Rossi? Well, their loss, their problem. I already am here, and subscribed and following. And drooling at that cake *___* Gief a bite! \^o^/

    • Thanks! To be fair though, it’s not WI itself, more that AOL cut the budget. WI didn’t want to let any writers go, let alone all the ones they had to. It was crappy for everyone involved.

  10. And then there are the people (i.e. me) who didn’t actually grasp or forgot you were on WI (as I stopped reading it years ago for several reasons).
    Good thing for me: no change to worse, actually looking forward to more posts I missed 🙂

    • Heh. Bad changes for me: less income. 😦 I am happy to be writing more on my own blog, though! It’s nice. 🙂

Leave a comment